Eco-Malice?

The widely accepted view of eco-terrorism encompasses those who take action against individuals or organizations who damage the environment. The actions are considered extreme and usually have the specific intention of causing damage to property.

Maybe it’s my “can’t we all get along” Canadian sensibility but I’d prefer it if we would talk to each other. And these eco-terrorists are supporting things I believe in! Healthy environment. Clean air and water. Renewable energy. Better treatment of animals. I just can’t stomach the tactics.

It’s the malice that doesn’t sit well with me. Doing harm to win an argument or shed light on something. Feeling justified destroying construction sites or damaging forestry equipment. That’s malice.

And there are those who act with malice towards the environment. I know of a lady who purposely leaves her office lights on overnight and always puts recyclables in the garbage. She does it to make a point. She’s striking out against the environment as a way of showing political disagreement with those who support it. To me that’s eco-terrorism. That’s acting with malice.

If you want to read all the political nuance around the issue of the environment, there’s plenty out there to be found. The statistics to support everyone’s views are there as well. Have at it.

When you’re done educating yourself, I hope you’ll agree with me and support the same things I do. Regardless, if you’re moved to action, please don’t act with malice.

One Response to “Eco-Malice?”

  1. Mauriette Mitchell-Adams Says:

    I agree. Everytime I throw a can or bottle in the trash I’m conscious of it being in the wrong place. When I lived in Italy, you would get fined for mixing plastics, glass, paper and compost. They’d give you 3 months to get it right. We were reminded by the local polizia about what to put in bins and days to put it out. Now we all know that Italy is considered to be still a Third-world country, heck, it takes up to 9 months to recieve satellite tv in some villages. But when it comes to recyling in Italy, they got it right with no need for improvement. So I ask, why can’t America get together and agree on one system for all americans? It can work, it does for a small country such as Italy. There streets are clean. When it comes to recyling, America is in the dark-ages.

Leave a Reply

