Take it easy.

I had a great conversation today with a colleague about how we live too fast.

He’s reading a book by Carl Honore called In Praise of Slowness.  It reminded me of something I heard or read somewhere a number of years back about how our brains take in information most effectively at about 2.5 miles per hour.  Literally a walking pace.  We’re not made/adapted (let’s not get into a philosophical discussion about our origins here) to absorb information as quickly as we force ourselves to.

When driving, we read signs, make decisions, likely listen to the radio, probably talk on the phone (tsk, tsk), and think about the next place we’re supposed to be or task we need to get done.  We unwind at the end of the day by watching TV which actually stimulates our brain more than relaxes it.  I heard about a study that shows we don’t spend enough time in silence.  (I’m riffing here, you can look this stuff up if you want citations)

And we wonder why we’re tired.  We need more coffee.  We feel less productive some days.

What’s our deal with being busy?  If we see someone meander down the hall rather than full out, head down, looking worried, we think, “They don’t have enough to do.”  We “produce” more, higher quality output (widgets, communication, whatever) when we take our time and are deliberate!  When we’re intentional.  I love that word these days.  Intentional.

I don’t know why we think busy=productive but I’m going to chew on it when I get some down time.

One Response to “Take it easy.”

  1. Holly Says:

    Yeah, I like that word, too. Intentional. I think intentionality is the difference between a hippie and a hillbilly.

    (You don’t know me, but just to preemptively ward off any feelings of creepiness that may come from a stranger reading and leaving comments on your blog, I should tell you that I’m a friend of the Tindalls and found your blog by following their Facebook links.)

Leave a Reply

